1953 Topps Baseball Cards

53topps018 From 1978-1987, I was an avid baseball card collector. Like most kids, I gave it up as I got older. Now that I have my own son, I have come back to those cards. There are thousands. I have started to sort them, so that I may pass that collection onto my son. I have also sparked an interest in starting a new collection; the 1953 Topps set. Beautiful colors and true greats from years ago. It also features a good friend of mine; Red Sox infielder Ted Lepcio. I am have half way there. I have acquired Jackie Robinson, Satchell Paige and Willie Mays. I have even got a couple autographed ones along the way, including Hall of Famer, George Kell. Thanks George.

People argue for Mint condition. I like the dog eared corners and creases. Those bruises tell stories. Were the cards in back pockets, bicycle spokes, the washing machine ? After all. Isn’t that were cards were for ?

One comment

Leave a Reply

